Edit Business Processes collaboratively
When two or more users are editing the same Business Process (BP) or different runs of the same BP, the WorkFusion engine detects the activity and performs the following actions:
- Displays all users who are viewing or editing the current BP.
- Adds an indication for each task or rule edited by other users.
- Automatically updates BP steps when they are saved by other users.
- Notifies users about changes in the BP structure.
- Prompts for conflict resolution if needed, giving you the choice to update the process or ignore the changes made by other users.
- Displays the changes made by other users and shows differences.
See all BP editors
In the top right corner of the Workflow tab, you can see the number of users who are currently editing the process. Hover over the user icon to see all user names.

Monitor warnings about other users editing
WorkFusion shows a warning when any other user is editing:
Manual steps in the BP Designer or Manual Task Designer
Bot steps in the BP Designer or a step configuration window

Composite rules

The step is outlined in the color corresponding to the editing user. When you hover over a step, you can see the list of users who are currently editing it.
Update in runtime
Manual and Bot Tasks
When another user performs the following actions:
- Edits step A by changing its name, design, options, and so on and saves it or replaces step A with step B from the library by dragging it over step A.
- Saves the BP.
The result is as follows: step A is automatically updated or replaced by step B for all users who are not editing step A at the moment.
Composite rules
When another user performs the following actions:
- Edits composite rule X by changing its name, outcome, or condition without adding or removing outcomes and then saves the rule.
- Saves the BP.
The result is as follows: rule X is automatically updated for all users who are not editing rule X at the moment.
Identify recently edited steps
If you have edited a BP step and saved it but haven't saved the BP yet, the recently edited step is marked with a pencil icon.
Get real-time notifications about process updates
If another user modifies the BP structure (adds, removes, moves a step, rule, or outcome) and saves the BP, you see the following action panel:

The action panel displays the name of the user who modified the BP and contains three actions:
View the changes: open the modified BP version in the view mode in a new browser window.

Update my view: all changes made by another user are applied to the BP.
Ignore changes: keep working on your BP version without applying any changes from other users.
You can keep editing the BP without taking any action. In this case, you will need to resolve conflicts when you save the BP.
Resolve conflicts
The conflict resolution dialog is shown in two cases:
- Instant conflict when you save a step or rule.
- Deferred conflict when you save a BP.
When you have edited a BP structure, step, or rule and try to save it, you can get the following conflict messages:
Another user has edited this business process
You have the following options:
- View the changes: the step is opened in the view mode in a new browser window.
- Discard my changes: keep another user's changes and save the BP.
- Overwrite other user changes: ignore another user's changes and save your version of the BP.
Another user has edited this human task (Bot Task or business rule)
In this case, you have the same options as for the BP structure conflict described above plus the following one:
Show comparison: view the differences between your task or rule and that of another user to make a decision which version needs to be saved.

The same is applicable to rules:

There can be one conflict for the BP structure and multiple conflicts for several BP steps or rules. You can switch from one conflict to another by clicking arrows on the left and right sides.
To save a BP that has conflicts, follow the steps below:
Resolve all conflicts by overwriting or discarding.
Click the Save button again.