Edit Business Processes collaboratively
When two or more users are editing the same Business Process (BP) or different runs of the same BP, the WorkFusion engine detects the situation and performs the following actions:
- Displays all users who are viewing or editing the current BP.
- Adds an indication for each task or rule edited by other users.
- Automatically updates BP steps when they are saved by other users.
- Notifies users about changes in the BP structure
- Prompts for conflict resolution if needed, giving you the choice to update the process or ignore the changes made by other users.
- Displays the changes made by other users and shows differences.
This feature helps to understand who is editing the same process, save all useful changes, and resolve conflicts when several users have changed the same BP step or BP structure (rules, outcomes, added or deleted steps).
Displaying all BP editors
In the top right corner, you can see the number of users who are currently editing the process. Hover over the user icon to see all user names in the drop-down list.

Warning about other users editing
WorkFusion shows a warning when any other user is editing:
Manual steps in the BP Designer or Task Designer
Bot steps in the BP Designer or a step configuration window

Composite rules

The step is outlined in the color corresponding to the editing user. When you hover over a step, you can see the list of users who are currently editing it.
Runtime update
Case 1: Manual and Bot Tasks
When another user performs the following actions:
- Edits step A by changing its name, design, options, and so on and saves it or replaces step A with step B from the library by dragging it over step A.
- Saves the BP.
The result is as follows: step A is automatically updated or replaced by step B for all users that are not editing step A at the moment.
Case 2: rules
When another user performs the following actions:
- Edits rule X by changing its name, outcome, or condition, but does NOT add or remove outcomes and saves it.
- Saves the BP.
The result is as follows: rule X is automatically updated for all users that are not editing rule X at the moment.
Identifying recently edited steps
If you have edited a BP step and saved it but haven't saved the BP yet, the particular step is marked with a pencil icon.
Realtime notification about process updates
If another user modifies the BP structure (adds, removes, moves a step, rule, or outcome) and saves the BP, you see the following action panel:

The action panel displays the name of the user who modified the BP and contains three actions:
View the changes: open the modified BP version in the view mode in a new browser window.

Update my view: all changes made by another user are applied to the BP.
Ignore changes: keep working on your BP version without applying any changes from other users.
You can keep editing the BP without taking any action. In this case, you will need to resolve conflicts when you save the BP.
Conflict resolving
The conflict resolution dialog is shown in two cases:
- When you save a step or rule (instant conflict).
- When you save a BP (deferred conflict).
When you have edited a BP structure, step, or rule and try to save it, you can get the following conflict messages:
Another user has edited this BP.
You have the following options:
- View the changes: this step is opened in the view mode in a new browser window.
- Discard my changes: keep another user's changes and save the BP.
- Overwrite other user changes: ignore another user's changes and save your version of the BP.
Another user has edited this human task (Bot Task or business rule).
In this case, you have the same options as for the BP structure conflict plus a new one:
Show comparison: view differences in your task or rule and another user's version to make a decision which version needs to be saved.

The same is applicable to rules:

There can be one conflict for the BP structure and multiple conflicts for several BP steps or rules. You can switch from one conflict to another by clicking arrows on the left and right side.
To save a BP with conflicts, follow the steps below:
Resolve all conflicts either by overwriting or by discarding.
Click the Save button again.