Process individual assignment
The procedure of working with assignments is as follows:
- Accept an assignment by selecting it in the assignment list.
- Process the assignment.
- Submit the assignment. As soon as you submit, you are automatically redirected to the next assignment in the queue. You can also skip or return the assignment to the queue.
If the Done or Submit buttons or any functionality described in the article are unavailable, check your Workspace permissions.
Select assignment
Once you select an assignment in a queue or use the direct link, the assignment opens in a separate window. In the assignment list, it is marked as In progress and becomes unavailable for other users.

If another user selects an assignment, it is marked as In use and becomes unavailable (blocked) for others. To see the name of the user who is working on the blocked assignment, hold the pointer over the Assignee area.

If you haven't updated the assignment list page for a long time and there are blocked assignments you do not know about, you see the Assignment in progress menu when you select such an assignment.

To proceed, choose one of the following actions:
- Click OK to view the next available assignment in the queue.
- Click Cancel to return to the assignments within the selected queue.
When you select the assignment that was stopped, paused, or deleted, the Assignment is not available message appears. Click OK to proceed to the next assignment in the queue.

Process assignment
The user interface for processing assignments varies depending on the Manual Task (MT) type. The screenshots below show an example of a labeling MT.
Once you open an assignment, you enter the processing mode, and the timer in the upper right corner starts counting.

You are expected to process the selected assignment within thirty minutes after acceptance. Otherwise, the assignment is returned to the list.
When you enter data in an assignment, your changes are saved automatically. Thus, if you leave or refresh the page with the assignment you are working on, close the browser, or the time allotted for processing is out and the assignment is returned to the queue, your changes are still saved. Other users having access to the assignment can view your edits and add their own. Mind that only the latest draft is saved.
The autosaving feature is available only for MTs created via Task Designer Operation. For the rest of MTs, any changes you enter are not saved unless you submit the assignment.
The timer is reset once you prolong. In the timeout popup that appears two minutes before the timeout, you have two available options:

- To prolong the execution time to thirty minutes and finish your assignment, select Continue.
- To return the assignment to the queue, select Quit assignment. You are redirected to the assignments within the selected queue. Mind that it is better to return the assignment than to submit a wrong or incomplete one.
- If you ignore the notification or click the Close button, the assignment is returned to the queue in two minutes automatically, and you are redirected to the assignments within the selected queue.
If any exceptions occur when you process assignments, you are redirected to the All assignments screen.
Submit assignment
Depending on the MT type and the AI Agent that uses it, different options can be available to complete and submit an investigation. For details, refer to the manual review sections for specific AI Agents:
When you finish entering all required answers for a labeling MT, check yourself and click the Done button to submit the assignment.

On clicking Done, you automatically proceed to the next assignment from the queue. If no assignments are available in the queue, the "You are all caught up" message appears. Click View assignments to continue working with the assignment list.

If the queue you are processing has been deleted, you see the "Sorry, the queue is not available" message. Click View assignments to continue working with the assignment list.

Skip or return assignment
You can skip an assignment or return it to the queue.

Both options are available on the top panel:
To proceed to the next assignment in the queue, click Skip. The skipped assignment is returned to the assignment list and becomes available for other users.
To return the assignment to the queue, click the Back to queue button. If you entered any changes in the assignment, the Quit assignment message appears.

- To return to the queue and make the assignment available for other users, click Quit.
- To continue working with the current assignment, click Cancel.
Every time you close the browser tab with your assignment, refresh it, or click the Back tab in your browser, the Quit assignment message appears. This is essential to avoid losing progress on an assignment.
In case of issues with Manual Task rendering in Workspace, read the following guides:
For useful tips on working with assignments in Workspace, see also the Workspace how-tos.