Skip to main content
Version: 10.2.8

Deactivate users

To deactivate users means to disable them after a configured inactivity period. For the Workfusion realm, the period is set to 90 days by default, implying that all users inactive for more than 90 days are disabled automatically. For all other realms, the default value is zero days, meaning the User deactivation feature is off, and users won't be deactivated automatically.

Change deactivation period

info

Before changing the deactivation period, make sure you have the manage-realm role set for the realm-management client in Keycloak. For detailed instructions, refer to Manage and assign realm and client roles.

To change the default deactivation period, follow the steps:

  1. Choose the required realm and open Realm Settings.
  2. Go to Security Defenses > User Deactivation.
  3. Specify the required user deactivation period in days and click Save.

To disable the User deactivation feature, set the deactivation period to zero days.

Enable deactivated user

After the deactivation, users remain visible in the system. However, on the Details tab of the Users page, the User Enabled toggle for the user is in the off position.

To enable a deactivated user, follow the steps below:

  1. On the user's Details tab, click the User Enabled toggle.

  2. Click Save.

Capture login events

The user deactivation job is based on the LOGIN events captured by Keycloak. These events are enabled by default. You are not supposed to switch them off if you plan to use the User deactivation feature. You can also view deactivated users in the event log stored in Keycloak.

Change frequency of user deactivation job

By default, the job that deactivates users runs according to the scheduler at 00:00:00 AM every day. The job switches off all the users for whom the period of inactivity matches the deactivation period in days specified in the settings.

To change the job frequency, on the server-side, open INSTALL_DIR/keycloak/keycloak.conf (for example, /opt/workfusion/keycloak/keycloak.conf) and change the value of the workfusion.task.cron.user.disabling parameter.